Computer & Mathematical Sciences Awards & Honours

Recent Honours

Francisco (Paco) Estrada has won the 2016 Faculty Teaching Award.  This is the award given by the UTSC Principal for outstanding achievement in teaching and pedagogical activity.  Paco is adored by his students and admired by his colleagues throughout UTSC.  This is well deserved recognition for years of outstanding instruction and distinguished leadership within CMS.
In 2016 Principal Bruce Kidd and Vice-Principal Research Bernie Kraatz introduced a UTSC award to recognize exceptional scholars at UTSC.  The new award, UTSC Research Excellence Scholar, was given to three faculty in this inaugural year, one of whom was Lisa Jeffrey. Professor Jeffrey’s record of accomplishment over the last 2 decades is truly remarkable.  Her many  research prizes and honours include the Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellowship, the Krieger-Nelson Prize, the Coxeter-James Prize, and the Steacie Fellowship. She is Fellow of the Fields Institute for Mathematical Research, Fellow of the American Mathematical Society, and Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada.
Dr. Jeffrey has also been named the 2017 Noether Lecturer.  The Noether Lectures were established in 1980 to celebrate distinguished women in who have made fundamental and sustained contributions to the mathematical sciences. The lectures are jointly sponsored on an annual basis by the AWM and the AMS.
In April 2016, Kathleen Smith was named Professor of the Year by UTSC students. This is an annual award voted by students and given by The Underground, a student run publication at UTSC.  CMS is delighted that our students recognize and appreciate the well-honed skills, care and dedication that Professor Smith brings to UTSC every day. Read more about the award in The Underground here.
As of April 2014, Bianca Schroeder is appointed Canada Research Chair in Data Centre Technologies. This is an extremely prestigious honour, recognizing her pioneering work on the performance and reliability analysis of computer systems in internet-scale data centres. Read about all UofT CRCs hereRead about UTSC CRCs here.
CMS Associate Professor of Computer Science, Bianca Schroeder, has been awards an Ontario Early Research Award. Funded by the government of Ontario, this award helps promising, recently-appointed Ontario researchers build their research teams of undergraduates, graduate students, post-doctoral fellows, research assistants, associates, and technicians. The goal of the program is to improve Ontario’s ability to attract and retain the best and brightest research talent.
Bianca Schroeder was one of three computer science faculty awarded the 2013 Outstanding Young Computer Science Research Prize from the national organization of the Canadian Association for Computer Science / Association informatique canadienne. This annual prize is given to computer science faculty at Canadian Universities, within 10 years of their PhD, who have made significant contributions in their careers. These awards were announced this spring and presented in Halifax this summer.
Our esteemed colleague Bálint Virág is the recipient of the 2014 John L. Synge Award awarded by the Royal Society of Canada for his outstanding research. The John L. Synge Award is named in honour of the late John Lighton Synge, FRS, FRSC, one of the first mathematicians working in Canada to obtain international recognition through research in mathematics.  He was Professor of Mathematics at the University of Toronto from 1920 to 1925. Bálint was honoured at the 2014 RSC Induction and Awards Ceremony in Quebec City. This RSC site lists previous winners.
David Fleet, Professor and Chair of Computer and Mathematical Sciences gave a TEDx Toronto talk in October 2014. Click here for more information on Professor Fleet's talk and TEDx Toronto