APS Takes Home Two Awards - Apr 2021


The APS Wins Awards at DSA & Club Awards Night + Announces Newly Elected Executive Team for 2021-22

On behalf of the Philosophy Department we would like to congratulate Bisma Ali, former president of the Association of Philosophy Students at UTSC, for her leadership this year and for winning the UTSC DSA (Departmental Student Association) President Award at the recent Scarborough Campus Students’ Union (SCSU) Awards Night. The event was held live via facebook on April 3, 2021.

Congratulations also goes out to the entire APS Executive Team (Courtnee Cuenca, VP Acdemics; Syed Faateh Ali, VP Operations; Ravena Mohabir, VP Events; Marybel Menzies, VP Speaker Relations; Lisha Manila, VP Public Relations; Andrew Daley, VP External Relations; Josh Wilkinson, VP External Relations & Bisma Ali, President) for taking home the Academic Advocacy Award at the same SCSU event.

Year after year the Association of Philosophy Students (APS) has been an invaluable resource for our students; hosting events and providing services to enhance the university experience.
This year, the team was presented with a unique set of challenges due to the pandemic. But together, they worked hard to build a community online and succeeded to provide a robust series of philosophical events.

A few of their key accomplishments this year were:

1) Offering a writing clinic for undergraduate philosophy students
2) Hosting 8 guest philosophy speakers to present their research
3) Organizing weekly discussions via Discord on various philosophy topics (with the help of Year Representatives)
5) Establishing an active Instagram, Facebook, YouTube channel, Discord and website
6) Implementing an APS Philosophy Blog
7) Arranging a (very well-attended) UTSC Faculty Meet and Greet online for students
8) Actively participating in the Tri-campus Philosophy Undergraduate Research Conference

Their achievements this year are a testament to their resilience and dedication to philosophy students at UTSC. Together, we thank each APS member for their service and celebrate their well-deserved successes.

Separately, we would also like to extend a warm welcome and congratulations to the new, recently elected APS Executive Team for 2021-22:

President – Marybel Menzies
VP External – Josh Wilkinson
VP Operations – Syed Faateh Ali
VP Speaker Relations – Jla Starr Johnson
VP Public Relations – Lisha Manila
VP Academics – Bisma Ali
VP Events – Rohan Jaggernauth

There are a few familiar faces, along with some new ones too! Please join us in congratulating all of them.

We look forward to another year of fun philosophy.